When the underdog triumphs

There are times in everyone’s life when things don’t go the way we plan or it feels like an unfair hand has been dealt to us.  I firmly believe that what you choose to do with that hand defines you as a person.  Not forever, but certainly for that hand.  If you lose a bad hand, or a thousand bad hands, you will most likely get another bad hand with which you can make something good happen.  Then there are people that can make bad things happen with really good hands.  This is why you won’t ever see me play poker.  But that’s for another day.

A couple years ago, a friend came into my life who had been dealt more bad hands than usual.  Sometimes she couldn’t make anything good out of the situation, and sometimes she could.  When I first met her, some really bad shit had gone down and I would guess she was at one of her lowest points.  I have had the amazingly fortunate luck of watching her take that shit hand and start to turn it into something awesome.

One of the ways she has learned to make something good out of life, is by playing the guitar.  This is how she keeps moving forward and how she builds herself up in order to no longer be the underdog.

I am very proud of her.

Leave a comment